I’m Ghana be gone in three weeks

Let the Ghana puns abound.  Read my blog to see what I’m doing in Ghana when I can get to an internet cafe.  I won’t have my laptop with me, it barely survived the plane ride to Cabo and life in a super nice condo, I don’t think it would make it fifteen weeks in Ghana.  Hopefully I will be able to update periodically with my – I hate this word in use of study abroad blogs but I’m going to do it anyway – adventures.  You know what, fuck that, hopefully I can update periodically with my random experiences that may become exciting or may just turn out to be everyday life things.  Ha ha.  I’m doing my best to stay away from phrases like ‘life changing experience’ and ‘perspective altering times’ etc.  Don’t worry, I’m sure they’ll all come out eventually, the cheeseball in me is hidden down there somewhere.

For the three weeks until I leave, I’m going to try to update with things like my opinion on random topics, stories from my life, musings on…whatever.  Also, it’s never to early for me to say

HEY REMEMBER THE TIME I WROTE YOU, YES YOU, I SEE YOU, ALL OF YOU, BETWEEN ONE AND FIFTEEN LETTERS OVER THE SUMMER AND YOU DIDN’T WRITE ME BACK?!  (WELL, SOME OF YOU WROTE ME BACK.  THANKS, I LOVE YOU)  WHAT DO YOU THINK WOULD BE AN AWESOME TIME TO REPAY ME?!!?!

 

PROBABLY WHEN I’M ALONE ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD IN GHANA.  I WILL UPDATE PERIODICALLY ON HERE AND ON FACEBOOK AND EVERYWHERE WITH THE ADDRESS WHERE YOU CAN REACH ME.  AND REMEMBER, YOU DON’T ACTUALLY HAVE TO GO TO THE POST OFFICE TO SEND A LETTER.  YOU CAN STICK IT IN YOUR MAIL BOX AND PUT THE FLAG UP.  I DON’T KNOW WHY MORE PEOPLE DON’T DO THIS.  OR AT REDLANDS, YOU CAN WALK PAST THE MAIL CENTER, IT’S ON THE WAY TO THE COMMONS, AND PUT IT IN THE BIG BLUE MAIL BOX.

 

Sorry everyone.  I just really want mail in Ghana.  I really want mail while I’m here too, and seriously, thanks to the people who have been writing me.  I really do appreciate it when I get letters back, it makes me the happiest goblin.  It has brightened up my lonely summer.  In case anyone is wondering what it’s like to be a Redlands student in Wisconsin in summer, it’s like this:

 

 

That lack of image gets my feelings across.  I love you Wisconsin, but you’re bringing me down.   In case you were wondering what I do to fill up my days, please refer to the lack of image above.  But I’ve learned a lot about property hunting, the bro code, and what it’s like to be a cop in internal affairs.  If I need to buy a house in Ghana with bros while treading lightly around my cop father when I just became a detective in internal affairs, I’ll be set.

2 responses

  1. You never know, your time in Ghana could be life changing. I think generally people refer to their abroad experiences as life changing not because all of the sudden they have become ‘cultured’, rather they have discovered something new within themselves. Through deeply immersing yourself in a new culture one inevitably learns about ones own culture by the differences between new and old; thus inevitably learning about ones personal self. YOUUU WILL LOVEEEE IT

Leave a Reply

