Good thing I’m going to…oh wait, any country besides America

Remember when it was okay to not shave your legs in every country ever besides this one? That was nice. Oh wait, did I say okay? Its perfectly okay to not shave your legs in America, in fact I have not in three months. What I meant is, in America many women feel like they can’t leave their legs hairy because of the societal constraints placed on women by the beauty industry, and,  surprise surprise, by men.

There was a long period of time When I shaved my legs just as often as the average person. Okay, that’s a lie. The most often I have ever shaved is once every two weeks, tops. It became less and less frequent (I think I shaved all of four times sophomore year) until now, when I have pretty much stopped all together.  There are lots of reasons that I choose not to shave anymore.
1. The less I shave, the softer and less prickly my hair becomes.
2. I don’t really have a preference between my legs shaven and unshaven.
3. I think my, and any other women’s legs, look fine con hair and if people disagree that is probably at least partially due to society’s mark, not to actual preferences.
4. I hate how much time shaving takes.
5. Shaving cream is expensive.
6. Razor blades are expensive.
7. Fuck beauty standards.
8. I’d love, absolutely LOVE to yell at anyone who calls me out on it for being “gross.”

That pretty much covers my spectrum. You may notice, many of my reasons contain the phrase or at least the sentiment “I don’t care.” That covers a lot of this issue. I don’t care enough to shave my legs. I don’t care if some people like to do It every day, that’s their choice. I don’t care If a Guy wants to shave their legs. I don’t care If girls do it because they think its more attractive, as long as they are doing it for themselves and not for other people.

Which brings me to…why should anybody care what other people do with their bodies?  I heard tell of someone this month who said (this was on the internet so don’t worry I’m not throwing anyone I know under the bus) “I don’t shave my legs, but I’m too scared to go out in public with them hairy so I cover them up.”  WHAT KIND OF WORLD DO WE LIVE IN THAT SOMEONE FEELS SCARED TO GO IN PUBLIC WITH HAIRY LEGS?  I do this literally…every day, and I don’t give a fuck.  If someone thinks my hairy legs are gross, I DARE them to say something to me.  I love yelling at people over shit like this.  Women shaving their legs is a cosmetic thing that men decided women should do so they look…smoother?  and so that they can revel in the glory of feeling this nice smooth skin.  Well what about us?  Men’s legs are hairy as ever and no one cares.  Why is it women who are asked to spend an extra twenty minutes in the shower several times a week to keep their legs smooth?  And where does anyone get off making women feel embarrassed for not curtailing to this pointless social trend?

Really, if women like shaving their legs for any reason, that’s fine, they like it.  Oh, well, except the reason of society tells me to, I hate that reason.  I’m not saying no one should shave their legs.  Though I will tell you, you save a lot of money, a lot of time, and I have really noticed no difference since before I started this little trend with myself.  But no one should ever feel like they can’t go out like this.  Punch the strangers, punch the people you know who think its weird.  It doesn’t matter what other people think and if I ever met a person, male or female, who judged me to the point where they didn’t want to be around me because I don’t shave my legs, then that person is not someone I need to waste ANY time crying about.

Leave a Reply

