a few days ago? sometime? I DON’T KNOW TOO CONFUSED

Enjoy Your Life

That’s what our academic director, Yemi, always says to us.  That phrase is becoming one of the things I keep saying to myself in Ghana and is beginning to characterize many parts of the trip.  I’ve found that I’ve been very calm the majority of the time I’ve been here.  I haven’t had much trouble sleeping, I haven’t gotten any anxiety, and even in stressful moments I find myself able to just look around and live in the present moment.  I think that this is a skill garnered from the many transitions I’ve had recently – I thought that leaving Johnston at the end of this year was going to be the end of everything; and I was literally afraid of how I would be away from school.  But then I transitioned to camp, something that used to stress me out a lot, and I found myself able to flow through it much better than in previous years.  Even when others were upset by things I was just able to keep my head up and find some sense of complacent happiness.  Similarly I was worried that I would get anxiety at home much like last summer, when it got really bad, but nope.  I had even less to do than last summer and I was still able to keep anxiety at bay.  And now here in Ghana, which is, as I said, a potentially incredibly anxiety provoking situation, I’m just floating along very well.  Perhaps the wisdom of mindfulness is finally sinking in.  I know I worried to a lot of you about having anxiety while I was here, but it honestly hasn’t become an issue at all.  The only thing that I’ve really worried about is the whole ‘I’m traveling but I don’t feel any different!  Is something wrong with me?!’ type of thing.  But I just try to remember good old TRAIN (don’t judge me) and trust the process.  Yahoo.

We had our first day of class today, and last night we met our homestay families.  I am actually in a homestay with another girl on the program, which has been a nice way for me to not feel so supremely awkward in the homestay situation.  It is especially helpful because our family is really nice and we are well taken care of, but they aren’t big talkers.  So it’s easier to have someone to navigate the waters with.  We are actually only about a five minute taxi ride from school, which is a surprise since the literature said about 45 minutes was normal.  Some people are really far away from school and have to take multiple tro-tros and buses to get to campus, and I’m actually a little bit jealous because it would be nice to get more independent experience with the tro-tros.  But I’m here for three months, if not now I’m sure I’ll have lots of confusing rides during my independent study.

 

SORRY THAT WAS SO SHORT.  THIS IS BEING ADDED NOW.  IT IS VERY HARD TO DO COMPLETE THINGS HERE.  I WOULD ADD MORE BUT I AM TOO DRAINED TO THINK.  BOOP BOOP MISS YOU ALL!

Leave a Reply

